More Art Please, for the Gentleman at the Bar

After all our procrastination, C and I finally buckled down for our Saturday internet date. No, this wasn’t e-dating or anything like that. This was pure internet hedonism–a few hours to go online and do whatever we’ve been wanting to do, but haven’t had the time to for months. For C, this was a little MD work and personal surfing. For me, this was mostly Facebook. The place: V-Bar, which I now highly recommend to anyone who wants to get some work done and have the occasional danish, coffee or beer. Between surfing and munching C and I meet M, a former lawyer, current real-estate broker who enjoys an occasional art on the side. Today, I share the beginning of M’s and my email correspondence about having a little art on the side. 

S: What type of art do you most enjoy?

M: My silly answer is that I most enjoy good art. I don’t prefer one medium or time period to another. My favorite artist is Marc Silvestri, a comic book artist. I also generally know and love the big names, but there are a lot of Picasso’s and Monet’s I dislike. Simply, I enjoy art that is novel or speaks to me.

S: What did you want to be when you were a kid?

M: As a kid, I’m sure I wanted to be a comic book artist. I still buy sketchbooks with the idea of drawing again. But life takes a lot of time. And it is hard to find the time to put in the practice I’d need to put in to be truly good. I’m also certain that subconsciously, I wanted to do what I’m currently doing.

S: That’s great that your current work gives you so much joy. Whether or not you want to become a professional comic book artist, I think there’s something great about doing a creative activity simply out of your love for it. Silvestri’s work is quite impressive! What stops you from continuing to draw?

M: As for life getting in the way, my schedule is roughly waking up at 5:30 to work out, then to the office between 8 and 9, at work until around 7, then home for dinner until 8 or so, and then relaxing until bedtime.  And the weekends, well, I have no excuse for not being a weekend artist.

S: I totally understand about life getting in the way. It’s funny what you say about being a “weekend artist”. I think my mother would prefer I be that as well. Have you ever read The Artist’s Way? I started reading it earlier this year [thanks to K!], and it has definitely been an inspirational read (thus far) about how to further develop my practice and incorporate creativity into my daily life. Would you share some of your drawings/creative projects with me?

M:

 

S: Thanks for sharing some of your drawings!

Do you too enjoy a little art on the side? Let us know how in the comments!

Tagged , , ,

Add your thoughts

